Valentines Day 1960

Valentines Day 1960

My name is Melanie

it tastes of  butterscotch,

warm and creamy

melting sweet in my mouth.

When I read my name I hear music,

in a scroll of rolling notes and vowels,

all round sound: aaaa oooo eeee yes!

If you call me Mel, I feel large and cold,

A hard, greasy block

of butter hacked in half.

Mel burdens me but I’m used to it.

If you call me Sweetheart

My heart skips, my veins flush warm;

and when  my feet get hot I will run away.

Melanie Alcorn, age 14

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Valentines Day 1960

  1. Rose Fuhrman

    Especially impressive because of your age when you wrote this. Wow, Melanie.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

